Any tips and techniques on long lining from an as350

Got any good tips for that killer aircraft pic?
horlix

Any tips and techniques on long lining from an as350

Postby horlix » Sat Aug 3 2013, 09:45

Hi guys. I'm a pretty low time pilot lucky enough to have a job flying and the company I work for have recently acquired an as350. We've got a bit of long line work coming up this summer and I hope to be doing most of it. Trouble is my skills are a tad rough in the new machine and I was wondering if anyone had any as350 specific tips that might help me. I've been going pretty sweet with a 60ft line in the 500 but the 120 footer in the as350 is taking quite a bit of getting used to. The toughest part is avoiding the swing when positioning the load. The machine has no mods to improve your position when your head is out the door so it feels like you're literally controlling the thing with your finger and toe nails and stealing a glance in to check the instruments always seems to turn things pear shaped on the end of the line. Any tips would be much appreciated. Thanks.
wheatbix
2nd Dan
2nd Dan

Re: Any tips and techniques on long lining from an as350

Postby wheatbix » Sat Aug 3 2013, 18:09

Does the machine have a vertical reference window in the floor?
horlix

Postby horlix » Sat Aug 3 2013, 19:24

No unfortunately not.
Capt Ahab
Silver Wings
Silver Wings

Postby Capt Ahab » Sat Aug 3 2013, 20:09

If it doesn't have the DART floor MOD don't do it.

I have over 2000 hrs long line an about 1000 in the AS350 and I would never long line without that MOD. Hanging out the door if you're shorter than 5'10 is crazy. If the donk coughs or splutters you will not get back in quick enough to recover RPM.

My thoughts only......

Cheers
100ft
Gold Wings
Gold Wings

Postby 100ft » Sat Aug 3 2013, 21:18

Without a longline window, your going to have some serious challenges. It could be done, but your not going to be very comfortable.