Possible to find employment on a working holiday visa?

Good Company to work for? What do they fly? Ask here.
caz7184

Possible to find employment on a working holiday visa?

Postby caz7184 » Fri May 29 2015, 00:33

So I am an American pilot with an FAA CPL thinking about coming over during the off season on a working holiday visa and was wondering if it is possible for employers to hire pilots on this visa? And if it is possible does it ever happen? I would convert my FAA license over to a CASA one and would have apprx 350 hrs total time with about 115 in the R44 upon arriving in Oz. Any input would be helpful!

Thanks!
rocketman

Re: Possible to find employment on a working holiday visa?

Postby rocketman » Sat May 30 2015, 01:30

You should be able to so long as the work involved is "incidental to your holiday."
Master Cylinder
200th Member!
200th Member!

Postby Master Cylinder » Sat May 30 2015, 08:20

Hey,

I don't want to rain on your parade, but there's quite a lot of work to do before you can even fly in Aus. Is it possible? I'd go for a firm maybe.

You've got a lot of work to do to get a CASA license including getting an ARN number (license number), getting your English Language Proficiency tested (not a problem but it does have to be done), getting your license converted (I couldn't even begin to tell you how long that might take) and then, after all that, you're going to be competing for a job against all the guys who trained over here and can't find a job.

If you do decide to come over on a working holiday and chose to give this a go, please keep us informed on here one way or another. My advice is have a backup plan in case it doesn't work out. You wouldn't believe the cash you can sock away if you can get a bartending gig in a tourist town. If you don't mind hard work, picking fruit in far north Queensland is good money as well.

Good luck and keep us advised.

MC
To fly is human, to hover...divine!
ChicoCheco
1st Dan
1st Dan