Foreign low-hour pilot

Good Company to work for? What do they fly? Ask here.
Wippes

Foreign low-hour pilot

Postby Wippes » Thu Mar 26 2015, 18:38

Hi all,
My name is Wim and I am planning to start my CPL(h) course in September. But before I do, I would like to have some more information about the job market in this field, especially in Australia. I am from Belgium and I know the job market here in Belgium is almost nihil and in the rest of Europe it is rather small as well, so I am thinking about starting my career in Australia after my education. After my education I would have approximately 200 flight hours on Robinson R22/R44 (I'm thinking 180hrs on R22 and 20 hrs R44) + CFI-license. Furthermore I have a bachelor-degree in electro-mechanics. My plan is to move to Australia for one year and get my face in front of some companies and try to get as many little beginner jobs as possible. I am hoping to have after this year around 1000 flight hours and being kind of sort of launched in the business (with being launched I mean being able to start looking for a fulltime job).

Is this plan that I have in my mind realistic or rather too optimistic and will companies never hire a foreign low-hour pilot?

Any advices, comments and recommendations about what to take in mind, where to go to find the most jobs, what to do and what not to do,..are very very welcome.

Wim
ChicoCheco
1st Dan
1st Dan

Re: Foreign low-hour pilot

Postby ChicoCheco » Sat Mar 28 2015, 20:32

A) long term work rights/residence to be really considered with tiny percentage of exceptions.

B) 200hrs isn't needed for commercial in Oz as you probably know. don't go over 155TT (50hr solo/non dual) not to overspend on Oz when returning to Europe.

C) yes, very, very optimistic
D) without trying to detract you from having nice time in Oz, if you want greater chance of work visa/flying towards 1000TT, then it'd likely not be it in your situation.