Vic training schools???

A place to have your say and ask your questions on anything in the Helicopter learning environment.
Ranger
Silver Wings
Silver Wings

Vic training schools???

Postby Ranger » Sat Feb 18 2006, 10:54

I'm new to the industry and need some advice specifically on Vic training schools.

I've made some initial inquiries and have been getting some mixed and varied opinions on where to train in Victoria.

I'm about to embark on my CPL(H) course full time and like most students want not only the best for my dollar, but want a school who can open up a door into the tourism industry for that first job. I realise that most jobs at this level involve little to no income.

PHS, heli group and kestral are my options. I've heard alot about all three,

All promise that "I will be flying at the rock" after I finish. I realise that they are a business and need develop their business, but all bulls@#t aside, who is the best and who will be the most worth while for employent prosepects?
helothere
Sensei
Sensei

Where?

Postby helothere » Sat Feb 18 2006, 21:14

This is a common question, good on you for seeking some advice from those that have been there.

Firstly, no school is likely to give you a 100% guarantee of employment after training. If they do, get it in writing. If the school does indeed have a path for low time pilots to follow, generally the ones who get a "go" are the students who show themselves worthy during their training. Are you the one who always sticks around to help wash the aircraft? Can you push a broom or wash the coffee cups without needing to be asked? Are you always early and well prepared for theory/flying lessons? Do you have a sense of humour? Are you safety conscious? Do you have any other skills you can offer? Of course these are just examples but you get the idea.