Page 1 of 1

ASIC

Posted: Thu Feb 2 2012, 20:21
by Skeeter
Hello BS,
I am planning to convert my licence to an Australian one in the near future.
So far so good, but one thing I could not figure out is:
Do I need to hold a current ASIC to sit the theory exam or flight test?
And/Or where can I find the relevant document?

Thanks in advance!

Re: ASIC

Posted: Thu Feb 2 2012, 21:50
by harold
You don't need it to sit exams but you will need an ASIC Application in for your licence

Re: ASIC

Posted: Thu Feb 2 2012, 21:56
by mja
Here's the link to apply for ASIC - http://www.aviationidaustralia.net.au/

........................ :cool_dc:

Re: ASIC

Posted: Fri Feb 3 2012, 02:21
by FerrariFlyer
Further to ASIC requirements don't try using it as a form of ID for your ASIC renewal...they don't recognise it as a form of ID!!! WTF

Re: ASIC

Posted: Fri Feb 3 2012, 08:10
by Skeeter
Thank you for the information! Helps a lot!

Re: ASIC

Posted: Fri Feb 3 2012, 13:43
by NZHelo
Skeeter wrote:Thank you for the information! Helps a lot!

The only thing your ASIC is good for is 10 or 15% off Duty Free. Other than that its a cash cow.....I refer to the case of the bloke who stole a helicopter and was convicted yet still holds the ASIC. Kind of like speed cameras are there to save lives

Re: ASIC

Posted: Fri Jun 8 2012, 12:05
by Skeeter
To the non Australian slappers:

Who did this immigration check already?

Applicants who are not Australian citizens must undergo an immigration check regardless of their age.
Note: Your immigration check can only be completed once you have arrived in Australia.

I applied for the ASIC in February/March, came to Australia to do the flight test and exams and departed 2 weeks later.
Now I received a mail from CASA saying my immigration check is not approved cause I`m not in Australia at the moment!?


What kind of check is this? Do you really need to be in Australia or can I go to an Australian Embassy to do this?

(yep, I will call CASA on monday, but its time critical)

Re: ASIC

Posted: Fri Jun 8 2012, 12:12
by Snowcarver04
I just received my ASIC this week but I have recently moved here so didn't have a problem. What country are you coming from. It took about 3.5weeks for my ASIC to arrive after sending in application.

Re: ASIC

Posted: Fri Jun 8 2012, 12:18
by Water Hammer
Need to be in Australia to get it, I have a kiwi mate who managed to get one on a two week holiday here so sounds like you just missed out!

Depends where you are going to work as to how soon you'll need it. Most places will let you start if it's not going to be a long wait to get it....but hey its CASA so don't expect it to go smoothly or quickly!

Re: ASIC

Posted: Fri Jun 8 2012, 12:24
by Skeeter
I`m from Germany.

"To finalise your ASIC applications you will need to be in Australia when the Immigration check is carried out. Please email your next arrival date into Australia."

Well...regarding my work: this would be next year... :shock:

I don`t need the ASIC itself at the moment. But I need the licence and the skill assessment for a visa!
No ASIC -> no licence -> no skill assessment -> no visa! Oc:=

EDIT: Water Hammer: Do you know what he had to do for the check?

Re: ASIC

Posted: Fri Jun 8 2012, 12:36
by Water Hammer
Skeeter I think if you apply for the ASIC and get rejected they may still send you out your Licence...which means you should be ok for your Visa!

The immigration check is something CASA do with the Immigration people - as far as I'm aware it all happens behind the scenes and all you have to do is be in the country. My info is fairly recent so should be accurate....but def call them at CLARC to see IF they can help!

Re: ASIC

Posted: Fri Jun 8 2012, 23:57
by Snowcarver04
The license and ASIC are separate applications and you don't need an ASIC to convert a license. You only need it when you want to fly here.
Sounds like a catch 22 if you need an ASIC for a visa and not just a license.
Coming from NZ we don't have to do a flight check or any exams but you wouldn't need AISC for flight check I would think because your flight examiner has one. Someone else might know more about this?

Re: ASIC

Posted: Sat Jun 9 2012, 00:33
by Heliduck
I haven't done any recent research so I'm shooting from the hip here, but the ASIC is only required if operating into a security controlled airport or one which services RPT flights, so the issue of a licence, medical or anything else from CASA should be irrelevant to the person having a current ASIC shouldn't it?

Re: ASIC

Posted: Sat Jun 9 2012, 05:33
by Water Hammer
Good advice guys sounds about right I used to think you had apply for an ASIC when you are applying for a foreign licence conversion! But sounds like I'm wrong?....most jobs will require you to have an ASIC anyway whether it's the company policy or whatever, so pays to have one unless you are working in a remote area all the time!