Irish and moving to Australia to train.

Need a hand? Try the *Forum FAQ* link at the top. Failing that, post a question here.
stig

Irish and moving to Australia to train.

Postby stig » Sun Mar 6 2011, 21:54

Am I crazy ? I plan to move to Australia from Ireland shortly to follow the dream.(ie helicopter pilot) I'm 33 this month and would be starting almost from scratch apart from my PPL fixed wing. My question is am I crazy starting off at 33.? I am an engineer by profession but never had the opportunity to train to be a helicopter pilot. I want this more than anything. I know I have the aptitude and the determination. (ie. Its not just pulled from the air) My concern is my age. I'm in touch with a school down under at present but would like to hear people's advice in general on a a good school and of course honest replies regarding my age would be appreciated. I'm not having a mid life crisis re my age. I just know that I will have a shelf life.
Thanks .
Ray McCooney
2nd Dan
2nd Dan

Re: Irish and moving to Australia to train.

Postby Ray McCooney » Sun Mar 6 2011, 22:13

Your age is no problem. Just make sure you have a work visa for when you have the licence because no visa = no work and a trip back to Ireland to go through the JAA conversion.

As for schools, it depends on where you plan to stay. If you are planning on Western Australia, Heliwest. If Queensland, Chopperline. Victoria, PHS or The Helicopter group. These companies do take on some new/low time ex students which is why I would look at them.

Good luck
Ray
rotor-boi
Silver Wings
Silver Wings

Postby rotor-boi » Sun Mar 6 2011, 22:18

Hey there buddy,

Welcome to the forum firstly. :D