Risks of Lightning

Ask a question. Post an answer. Learn something!
bj225
Silver Wings
Silver Wings

Risks of Lightning

Postby bj225 » Thu Aug 24 2017, 11:17

With Summer fast approaching, theres sure to be some big storms rolling through soon.
Im only new to aviation and fly a R22 and R44 and found myself out and about with some lightning today.
It got me thinking what are the chances of it hitting a chopper, what would happen if it did and what was others personal limits around lightning.
I know big commercial jets are designed to be struck but not sure how much design work frank robinson put into it.
pop;
Billy Hill
Gold Wings
Gold Wings

Re: Risks of Lightning

Postby Billy Hill » Thu Aug 24 2017, 20:16

Lightning = storms. Stay the hell away in a Robbie.
Then you won't get hit. Or hit the ground.
muppet
1st Dan
1st Dan

Postby muppet » Thu Aug 24 2017, 20:58

Ok, I am going to go out on a limb here, and suggest that Boeing builds its passenger jets to a slightly higher specification than Uncle Frank. And having seen pictures of what lightning can do to airliners, I would also recommend staying away from the big flashy stuff. Those bolts may look cool, but they generate enormous amounts of energy and heat. I usually get the hades away or on the ground when I see flashes.
havick
4th Dan
4th Dan

Postby havick » Thu Aug 24 2017, 21:05

muppet wrote:Ok, I am going to go out on a limb here, and suggest that Boeing builds its passenger jets to a slightly higher specification than Uncle Frank. And having seen pictures of what lightning can do to airliners, I would also recommend staying away from the big flashy stuff. Those bolts may look cool, but they generate enormous amounts of energy and heat. I usually get the hades away or on the ground when I see flashes.

Pretty much all airlines have a requirement to avoid thunderstorms by 20nm's or some variation thereof even though the aircraft can generally take a lightning bolt.